Service leader post 1

Working as an intern via the OSEEL office has been a great experience and I am only a month into the program.  I was assigned to the ideal program for me, STEM outreach.  With STEM I get to work with children and fellow students and staff on designing fun experiments and interactive projects to spark passion for the sciences in children.

I wanted to gain experience with working with children as I have little experience, as well as to learn about all of the different complexities that go into a big event from conception to initiation and beyond.  For example, Oct. 8 is STEMFEST 2016 and it is by far the biggest STEM event of the year!  There are many different elements that go into an event this size from gathering sponsor, getting hundreds of volunteers, informing the pubic, and of course designing and building hundreds of fun exhibits.  I have been lucky enough to get to work in each one of these required positions at one time or another for STEM and I look forward to learning just what it takes to run a business and lead a massive event.

More to the point, I have concern that within the local community there is a vacuum for STEM passion and enthusiasm.  This leads to decreased general knowledge among people as well as the stagnation of a country as a whole.  We live in a time where our planet is at stake and as we see the generation currently in power doing very little, the responsibility will fall on the children of tomorrow to fight the issues.

Leave a comment